24 Australians Selected for IAAF World Cross Country Championships

A team of 24 will represent Australia at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships when it takes place in Uganda early this year.

Athletics Australia has today confirmed the 24 strong team that will be heading to Kampala in Uganda for the 2017 IAAF World Cross Country Championships, which will take place on the 26th of March.

The team will be led by Brett Robinson and Anna Kelly after the duo won the Selection Trial in Canberra last month.

Other automatically selected athletes including Stewart McSweyn, Jack Rayner, Emily Ryan and Gemma Maini.

The remaining men’s and women’s teams of six were rounded out by Sam McEntee, Liam Adams, Patrick Tiernan, Bridey Delaney, Lexy Gilmour and Virginia Moloney.

McEntee narrowly missed a top-three place at the Selection Trial and made his Olympic debut in Rio, while Adams is a two-time medallists at the World Student Cross Country Championships. Tiernan has been selected after his stunning victory at the NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Delaney won the Australian 10,000m Championship to close out her 2016 campaign and come into contention for selection, while Gilmour and Moloney both placed among the top-six at the Selection Trial. Moloney is the current Australian cross-country champion.

The selected teams for the boy’s and girl’s races capture the best placed finishers at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships Selection Trial.

BOYS (6): Callum McClusky, Josh Phillips, David Lean, Kieran Tall, Edward Trippas, Zachary Facioini

GIRLS (6): Lauren Ryan Courtney Hopkins, Georgia Evans, Emily Hopper, Amelia Mazza-Downie, Clio Ozanne-Jacques

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure
Lachlan Rayner
Lachlan is the Founder of Athletics Exclusive. His athletic background is basically made up of distance running, who competes in a range of events, varying from the 400m up to 3000m.

You may also like

Leave a reply

More in:AETV